Skip to content ↓

Learning and the Curriculum


In recent years more importance has been placed on the quality and content of provision for pre-school children. To qualify for funding for children, pre-schools must pass OFSTED inspections.

OFSTED has provided guidelines which divide the curriculum into the following seven areas of learning and development: 

  • Physical Development Communication
  • Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive art and design

Since September 2008 all children from birth to five years follow the early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework Areas of Learning & Development are underpinned by the four Principles of the EYFS. These principles are:

  • A Unique Child - every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive Relationships - children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or key person.
  • Enabling Environments - the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.
  • Learning and Development - children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

Staff meet regularly to discuss the development of their key children. We observe, analyse and use what we have found out about the children so that we can plan the next steps in their learning. Planning sheets for the week are displayed on the inside notice board. However, it must be stressed that an important element to any child's learning is PLAY and we ensure that we have the correct balance between adult initiated and child initiated activities.